Undergraduate Programs A-Z

Four-Year Programs Offered at Marshall University

A program is a unified series of courses or learning experiences that lead to a degree.

A major is a program of study requiring at least 24 semester credits for completion. It is offered within one department or by a combination of departments. It is a field of study within an approved degree program, having its own curriculum. A degree program may have more than one major. All courses in the major must be taken for a grade except internships, practica, and approved foreign study courses.

An Area of Emphasis is a specific subject area of study which has limited course offerings within an approved degree program and major. Normally, a minimum of twelve (12) credit hours would be expected for an area of emphasis at the undergraduate level.

Degree Abbreviations

Abbreviation Description
B.A. Bachelor of Arts
B.B.A. Bachelor of Business Administration
B.F.A Bachelor of Fine Arts
B.S. Bachelor of Science
B.S.B.M.E. Bachelor of Science in Biomedical Engineering
B.S.E. Bachelor of Science in Engineering
B.S.E.E. Bachelor of Science in Electrical and Computer Engineering
B.S.M.E. Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering
B.S.W. Bachelor of Social Work
R.B.A. Regents Bachelor of Arts

College Abbreviations

Abbreviation Description
CAM College of Arts and Media
CECS College of Engineering and Computer Sciences
COEPD College of Education and Professional Development
COLA College of Liberal Arts
COHP College of Health Professions
COS College of Science
COB College of Business